30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 2

Whatever you do, do it enthusiastically, as something done for the Lord and not for men… (Colossians 3:23)

I’m writing this on Friday afternoon, because I know I won’t have time on Saturday. It’s the end of an incredibly busy week. I’ve read…and I’ve read…and I’ve read. I can’t say this ranks in my “top 5 best weeks ever” category. But it’s okay.

Today marks 10 months at LifeWay. I can’t believe it has almost been a full year. While it took me a while to get to where I am at, I’m thankful for the journey the Lord took me on.

Today, for day two, I’m thankful for my job. I’m thankful for the stressful days, the pile of papers and manuscripts on my desk, the books I have to read, the meetings, the emails, the early mornings, the commute, the relationships, the encouragement, the finished products— all of it (okay, maybe not the commute). There are days I complain and there are days I just want to curl into bed, but I know that the Lord has me here for a reason. I know I’m just an instrument the Lord uses. I truly love my job.

image

I’m thankful that God allows me to be a part of something that is used to grow His kingdom. I’m thankful for the people who buy these Bible studies, the authors who write them, the people who work on them (there’s a lot). I’m thankful that the Lord stirs my heart and teaches me new things as I edit. I’m thankful for my co-workers and their encouragement, thirst for Scripture, and friendship. I truly love where I work and what I do—I’m so thankful to have a job that I enjoy.

Leave a Reply

