30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 8

I may be a little bit biased, but I think I have the greatest parents in the world. Yes, they’re a little bit strange. Not many people can say they spent their teenage years working for a BBQ catering company that was run out of a renovated garage-turned-kitchen. Even more than that, not many people can say they spent their teenage years traveling to BBQ competitions to watch their dad dress up as Elvis Presley and cook BBQ.

I had a weird childhood.

If I could survive this as a 14-year-old girl, I can survive anything.
If I could survive this as a 14-year-old girl, I can survive anything.

For day 8, I’m tremendously thankful for my parents. I’m thankful for the way they raised me. They taught me to think for myself, to stand up for what I believe in, and to always do what’s right. They encouraged my dreams and goals. They pushed me to succeed, applauded when I did, but didn’t punish if I failed.

I’m thankful that as an adult, I can still call my mom with anything; she’s my best friend. When I’m sick, I call her to see what I need to do. I spend my afternoon commute on the phone with her—she’s usually my sounding board after a long day at work; she lets me vent out any frustrations.

momI’m thankful that my dad is my biggest fan. Any writing talent I have comes from him and I’m thankful for that. I’m thankful that my dad set an example for Matthew and me as kids; he taught us not to let obstacles stand in our way of success.

dad2I’m thankful for all the support my parents have shown me. They have allowed me to make mistakes and grow from them. I’m thankful they have encouraged my dreams, my career, my marriage—all of it.

One thought on “30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 8

Leave a Reply

