30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 11

God, hear my cry; pay attention to my prayer. I call to You from the ends of the earth when my heart is without strength. Lead me to a rock that is high above me, for You have been a refuge for me, a strong tower in the face of the enemy. I will live in Your tent forever and take refuge under the shelter of Your wings. (Psalm 62:1-4)

Look, I have inscribed you on the palms of My hands… (Isaiah 49:16)

Today I am thankful for the things that are out of my control.

I know you’re probably thinking that sounds odd. Why would anyone be thankful for situations they can’t handle alone?

It points me to Jesus.

When my life is chaotic, when things fall apart, when things happen that are out of my control, I’m reminded that I’m only human. I’m reminded that as independent as I wish to be, I’m only here by the grace of God.

Charles Spurgeon once expanded upon and paraphrased Isaiah 49:16 as this: “I have engraved your person, your image, your situation, your circumstances, your sins, your temptations, your weaknesses, your wants, your works; I have engraved you, everything about you, and all that concerns you on the palms of my hands.”

Isn’t it comforting to know that God is sovereign and in control, even when when we feel like things are spiraling out of control? I’m encouraged to know that when my life feels chaotic and messy, all my worries, anxieties, fears, apprehensions—God knows them all.

Next time things get a little messy and chaotic, be thankful. Be thankful that you’re not in control—but you serve a God who is.

Leave a Reply

