30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 18

There is no one that annoys me more than my little brother.
There is also no one that I care about more than my little brother.

My nana likes to remind me that when I was younger, I would pray and pray and pray for God to give me a little brother. I like to jokingly say that when God answered that prayer, I prayed and prayed and prayed for God to take him back.

I’ve been holding off on my “thankful day” for Matthew, because I wanted it to be on his birthday. I remember the day he was born very well. After going to all of my mom’s appointments, I had developed a friendship with the doctor. After Matthew was delivered, Dr. Elder ran out to the waiting room, picked me up, and ran off to the room to see my new brother.

picture1

For the past 19 years (seriously? 19 years?), Matthew has been my greatest source of annoyance, my favorite person to pick on, and sometimes a pain. But don’t you dare pick on him or lay a finger on him. He may be bigger than me now and able to defend himself, but as I told a neighbor kid when I was 9-years-old, no one gets to pick on my little brother but ME—and I will beat you up.

picture2

Clearly I’m the cutest.

I am really thankful for my baby brother, even though he’s not quite a baby anymore. I’m enjoying having him here in town and watching him experience college. I’m really proud of him for taking on college head-on and trying new things. Happy birthday, Matthew! I love you and I am thankful God chose me to be your big sister!

945585_4745529965401_226287252_n

Leave a Reply

