30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 20

Today I’m thankful for technology and social media.

My age group is one of the last that remembers life before social media and the technology craze. Yes, there were computers and cell phones during my childhood, but Internet still involved dial-up (do teenagers even know what that is now?) and cell phones looked like this:

nokia-2110

My oh my, how far we’ve come.

While I sometimes miss those simpler days, I’m thankful for the way technology makes life easier. My calendars, contacts, alarms, documents, email, etc. are all located on my iPhone. I can check my email on the go, update my calendar (although I’m still loyal to my day planner), and take pictures.

And texting! I remember when text messages cost 10 cents a piece. Mom didn’t allow me to text, so when anyone sent me a text message, I made them give me a dime. Now I would probably be embarrassed to know how many text messages I send and receive every day. I love that it’s a quick way to let someone know you’re thinking about them, check in on someone, or just say “I love you.”

And then there is social media. I love that I can keep in touch with people via Facebook and Twitter. I love being able to keep up with the lives of my friends and family, see their pictures, hear about their families, etc. I never want social media to take the place of authentic relationships, but it makes staying in touch 10x easier. I love Twitter because I can follow co-workers, government leaders, news sources, pastors, and friends. It’s a quick way to get tidbits of information, doses of encouragement, and an occasional laugh. (On that note, go follow me on Twitter! @mrsmeghamby)

So for day 20, I’m thankful for the advancements in technology over the years and the ever-changing world of the Internet!

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 20

Leave a Reply

