Recipe: Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread

When the work Thanksgiving lunch popped up on my calendar, I panicked. People had already signed up for the easy items— desserts, drinks, plates, napkins. All that was left was the main dish, a few veggie options, and bread.

Well I could guarantee I wasn’t bringing the main dish. I can make some veggie dishes, but I’m not quite confident in my cooking abilities yet. So…bread.

For a few days I strongly considered bringing in Jim ‘N Nicks cheesy biscuits and claiming them as my own. But then I remembered I work for a Christian company, and lying about that probably wasn’t the best move.

So… bread. Thank goodness for Pinterest. I found this recipe from Lovin’ From the Oven, so all credit goes back there! I doubled this recipe to make two 9×5 loaves, so the recipe I’m posting is the doubled version!

1463648_10200761250662836_1052001882_n

Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread

Prep time: 15 minutes
Cooking Time: 50 Minutes
Serving Size: Two 9×5-inch loaves (approximately 20 slices total)

Ingredients:

  • 6 over-ripe bananas, mashed
  • 2/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • dash of salt
  • 3 cups flour

For the swirl:

  • 2/3 cups sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and lightly flour a loaf pan.
  2. Mix mashed bananas, sugar, butter, eggs, and vanilla together. Sprinkle baking soda and salt on top of the banana mixture. Gently stir in flour. (I used a flour sifter to mix mine in.)
  3. In a small dish, mix together the 2/3 cup sugar and 2 tablespoons of cinnamon.
  4. Add one layer of batter to each loaf pan. Sprinkle a generous amount of the cinnamon-sugar mixture all over the batter in the pan. Add second layer of batter, and then sprinkle the leftover cinnamon-sugar on top. (Make sure you use even amounts of batter in each pan!)
  5. Bake for 50-60 minutes. Mine took about 50 minutes.
  6. Let bread cool before serving. Enjoy!
I'm pretty bad at 1) slicing bread and 2) taking pictures of it.

I’m pretty bad at 1) slicing bread and 2) taking pictures of it.

One thought on “Recipe: Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

