30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 23

Today I am thankful for the opportunity my parents gave me to travel around the world. I love to travel. I have been to more than half of the United States and eight countries. I am so grateful for the opportunity my parents gave me to travel; it opened my eyes to other cultures and lifestyles.

Some of my favorite memories are in France, Italy, and Monaco. After my high school graduation, my parents paid for me to travel to Europe with a group from school. After three years of Latin class, Italy was a dream come true. I actually cried when I saw the Coliseum for the first time. Later that evening, our chaperone told me that my entire face lit up like I was seeing a fairy tale come to life.

rome

The picture on the right was taken at the Roman Forum. From there you have a beautiful view of the gorgeous Coliseum!

I wasn’t a huge fan of Paris, but seriously, how can you not be amazed by the Eiffel Tower? It’s such an incredibly beautiful, unique building. The view from the top of the tower is breathtaking

paris

(Left): The Eiffel Tower taken from underneath the tower. (Right): The gardens at Château de Versailles

I traveled to Peru the summer after my freshman year of college. I had the opportunity to travel there with my college group, my dad, and Stephen to do mission work in towns outside of Lima. I don’t speak a lick of Spanish, but I did learn how to say “Jesus loves you” and “Where is the bathroom?” Don’t ask me how now—I have no clue. Peru is such a beautiful country and it was a wonderful experience!

peru

(Left): Two of the little girls who attended the school in the town we worked in // (Right): the GORGEOUS mountains!

If you’ve never traveled, I encourage you to do so! Learn about the world around you— you will be a better person because of it! I am so thankful my parents encouraged me (and provided for me) to do so!

One thought on “30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 23

Leave a Reply

