Rejoice!

As we wrap up Christmas Eve, I find myself thinking about the gifts I’ve received and given today. Gifts are my love language, but deep down, I know it’s not the presents that matter. This holiday isn’t about the new gadgets, clothes, and toys. It’s about Jesus, the baby born in a manger, the Savior God promised to His people.

I think we often get wrapped up in the hustle and bustle of the holiday season and forget the reason. Sure, we have the wreaths and ugly Christmas sweaters that say, “Jesus is the reason for the season,” but do we truly believe it? Deep in our hearts, to the depths of our core, do we believe that it is completely about Him? Do we consider the fact that God humbled Himself to a baby? Do we think of everything our Savior suffered through, or do we leave Him as the baby in the manger? God loved us so much that He sent His only Son to die for us, that we may be reconciled to Him (see 1 Pet. 3:18).

I lose sight of that so often. It’s so easy to when life feels busy during this season.

John Piper wrote in the Good News of Great Joy Advent devotional, “How dead are we! How callous and unfeeling to your glory and your story! How often have I had to repent and say, ‘God, I am sorry that the stories men have made up stir my emotions, my awe, and wonder, and admiration, and joy, more than your own story.'”

I don’t want to lose sight of the true meaning of Christmas this year. I don’t want to get wrapped up in the gifts and excitement of food and fun. This Christmas, I want to remember the sacrifice that God made when He sent His son to dwell among us, only to die. For God loved the world in this way: He gave His One and Only Son, so that everyone who believes in Him will not perish but have eternal life. (John 3:16)

What a sacrifice. What a gift.

Merry Christmas! Rejoice—God is with us.

Leave a Reply

