One Word for 2014

intentionalDoes anyone else choose a “life word” for the new year? I know it’s kind of the trendy thing to do nowadays. I’ve never really been a trendy person, but I thought it sounded like a great idea. One word to define your life and new year.A lot of words came to mind. I’m a “word” person in general, so it has taken me a few weeks to decide on my word. But I finally chose one.

Intentional.

The Oxford-English dictionary defines intentional as “done on purpose, deliberate.” Merriam-Webster defines the word intention as “a determination to act in a certain way.”

This year, I want to be intentional.

I want to be intentional in my walk with the Lord. I want to be intentional with my quiet time, devotions, and prayer life. I want to be intentional about my spiritual growth.

I want to be intentional in my marriage. I want to be intentional in the way I serve and pray for my husband.

I want to be intentional in my friendships and relationships. It’s so easy to let social media take the place of genuine friendships. I want to be intentional in building community and maintaining healthy friendships.

I want to be intentional in my work. I want to pursue my work with diligence and excellence.

I want to be intentional in achieving my goals. Whether it’s reading 214 books, dropping a pants size, or becoming a more frequent blogger—I want to be intentional about it.

More than anything, I want to be intentional about living my life for the glory of God. When the apostle Paul was writing to the church of Colossae about the Christian lifestyle, he said, “And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him” (Colossians 3:17, ESV).

This year, I just want to be intentional.

If you were to choose a life word or Scripture verse for this year, what would you choose?

3 thoughts on “One Word for 2014

  1. alaynagrace says:

    Mine would be discipline in many areas- quiet time, thankfulness, prayer, being healthy, working on making my marriage the best it can be and a few other areas I’ve probably forgotten 🙂

Leave a Reply

