This Little Light of Mine

Every December I choose one word to define the upcoming year. In previous years I’ve chosen words like “intentional” and “trust.”

I’ve actually struggled to come up with a word for 2016, and I’ve spent the last few days and weeks thinking and praying about it.

I was Christmas shopping earlier this week and picking up a few things at Hobby Lobby when I saw this little trinket. As soon as I saw it, I knew what my word was.

IMG_2683

I came home and looked up the definition of “light.” I knew what it meant, of course, but I wanted to read all the different meanings.


Light

noun \ˈlīt\

: something that makes vision possible
: a particular aspect or appearance presented to view
: something that enlightens or informs

adjective

: having light
: not dark, intense, or swarthy in color or coloring
: having little weight
: of little importance
: free from care

verb

: to become light
: to take fire
: to ignite something
: to make or become bright


Leave it to me to choose a word that can be a noun, adjective or verb. After reading the definition, several Scriptures popped into my head.

“You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.” – Matthew 5:14–16

“Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.” –Psalm 119:105

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light. – Matthew 11:28-30

“So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison.” – 2 Corinthians 4:16-17


I’m called to be a light to the world. I don’t want to hide that light under a basket.

I can find a light for my path through God’s Word.

When I’m tired and burdened, I can find rest in Jesus, because His burden is light.

When I face pain or affliction, I can remember that my troubles are light and momentary, preparing me for what awaits in glory.

These are the things I want to remember next year.

2016: Light.

3 thoughts on “This Little Light of Mine

  1. Lois Stultz says:

    Megan, I have seen that light in you in so many ways. You let it shine in your love for God. I see it there when you are helping others and offering encouragement to those in need. I think I can see it sometimes when we sew, ha. Keep your light shinning. Love you, Ms Lois

Leave a Reply

